DOS Announces 2016 Diversity Visa Lottery Program Registration and Instructions; Advises that DV-2014 Visas Have Been Exhausted

DV-2016 Instructions

The Department of State (DOS or Department) has issued the registration procedures for the diversity visa (DV) lottery for 2016. Registration for the program opens at noon eastern daylight time (EDT) on October 1, 2014, and closes at noon EDT on November 3, 2014. As with the registration for the last several years, only electronic applications will be accepted. Applicants must complete the form found at and are encouraged not to wait until the last minute to file. The notice recommends early entry and suggests that applicants not wait until the last week of the registration period to enter.

For the DV-2016 lottery, natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply because the countries sent a total of more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. The instructions also note that persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible.

The detailed instructions for the DV-2016 program are reproduced below.


The DOS has announced that the 50,000 diversity visas (DVs) available for the 2014 DV lottery have been exhausted. The program would have ended September 30, 2014 had the DOS not allocated all 50,000 visas prior to that point. The visas available to winners of the 2015 DV lottery will become available on October 1, 2014.


Learn more about Practitioner Insights

Talk to your Rep about Practitioner Insights